books like pride and prejudice

What should you read if you liked Pride and Prejudice? Here a list of 10 books like Pride and Prejudice that will evoke in you the feeling that Jane Austen managed to capture in her story.

Pride and Prejudice is one of the top works of literature in general and feminist literature in particular.

If you read the novel and fell in love with its characters and its plot, you are probably looking for books that make you feel something similar, that evoke in you the feeling that Jane Austen managed to capture in her story.

Here you will find exactly what you are looking for: character development in a gripping plot, romance, heartbreak, subtle and graceful dialogues, and the spirit of an age encapsulated in the pages of novels that will change the way you think about women, family, and love.

Disclosure: Some of our articles contain affiliate links (as an Amazon affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases).

Wuthering Heights

by Emily Brontë (1947)


This novel by Emily Brontë is one of the most representative love stories of English romanticism. The characters are complex, credible, with their flaws and their virtues, and they all have a hidden side that the reader ends up discovering.

Their different personalities fight and debate each other and end up fighting in the name of love. Revenge, hatred, disappointment, and passion are protagonists in this classic story of English literature.



Little Women

by Louisa May Alcott (1869)


The story focuses on the lives of four teenage sisters Meg (Margaret), Jo (Josephine), Beth (Elizabeth) and Amy, daughters of the March marriage, whose father is in the Civil War and whose mother must educate her daughters and support the family in a difficult economic situation.

Each chapter is a short story of the protagonists, and when taken together they form a representation of life, the development of the personalities, and the growth of these little women.



To the Lighthouse

by Virginia Woolf (1927)


Virginia Woolf wrote this novel at the age of forty-five. It is a highly autobiographical work, so many of the characters represented under fictitious names are actually people who were part of the author’s life: her mother, her father, her stepsister, her brother…

Her mother’s death when she was only 13 years old would mark her for life. The memory of her mother, therefore, levitates deified and embellished in this novel where the author delves into both her maternal and paternal figure.



Rebecca

by Daphne Du Maurier (1938)


The English aristocrat Maxim De Winter meets a humble young woman in Monte Carlo (whose name you will never know) and soon they will become husband and wife.

But not everything will be rosy for the new Mrs. De Winter, as she will feel threatened by Rebecca, the dead ex-wife of her husband.

Although she is dead, Rebecca’s memory is still very much alive in the house, threatening the happiness of the protagonist. Will she ever be able to fill the shoes of the wonderful Rebecca? Can Maxim love her more than Rebecca’s ghost?



Jane Eyre

by Charlotte Brontë (1847)


It is a novel that belongs to the Bildungsroman genre where you can appreciate Jane’s growth and her transition from childhood to adulthood.

The characters are full of nuances and the story combines mystery and romance: the mystery is represented by a subplot in which the protagonist must discover what happens in Thornfield’s attic; and romance overflows the pages and crosses the ages to reach the reader directly.



Bridget Jones’s Diary

by Helen Fielding (1996)


New Year’s resolutions are something like everyone’s eternal pending: smoking less, giving up drinking, losing weight, being happy and an infinite series of things that you include to feel good (even though deep down you know that they are impossible).

This is how Bridget starts her diary. A list of things she should do and a list of what she definitely should not do. Will Bridget get what she wants?



The House of Mirth

by Edith Wharton (1905)


It will be enough to read a few pages for the reader to realize the Austenian style in Edith Wharton’s work.

Although they lived in very different contexts, social criticism and the importance of the social environment of the main characters will be the key points in common between both authors. A book similar to Pride and Prejudice you can’t miss.

The New York aristocracy is a sky full of constellations, and Lily Bart is a star that is about to fall. What will happen to her?



Middlemarch

by George Eliot (1871)


For many an unknown novel, for others one of the most representative works of Victorian literature and with all the characteristics of what we consider today as a modern novel.

In this book you will find possible and impossible loves, unexpected inheritances and disinherited people, dark pasts and entanglements of all kinds.

But what make this story truly special are not only the conflicts, but the description of the moments, the streets, the clothing, the recreation of an era with all its ideas and prejudices.



The Tenant of Wildfell Hall

by Anne Brontë (1848)


Among the best books like Pride and Prejudice is Anne Bronte’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall.

Helen Graham’s arrival in the dilapidated and depressing Wildfell Hall, her sour character, her reluctance to give details of her former life, and her apparent overprotectiveness towards her son only raises all kinds of questions: Where did she come from? Is she really a widow? Why did she decide to go to that horrible house?

In the novel, you will witness the difficult decisions a mother must make to protect her child and you will discover that there is always hope, even if it is revealed in mysterious ways.



Emma

by Jane Austen (1815)


This list ends with another book from Jane Austen’s great works. The protagonist of the novel is Emma, an intelligent and proud character who believes she is always right.

But when she realizes that she can make mistakes, she understands for the first time that she can’t always be right.

In this way, the reader will get more than one surprise with Emma and the results of her actions. In the end, both will understand that not everything is what it seems.

There will be ulterior motives, particular interests that do not respond to logic, inexplicable feelings that will make her plans not work out the way she expected, affecting the characters around her, the development of the story, and ultimately her own life.



If you are into Historical Romance have a Look at our Article 10 Epic Historical Romance Books You’ll Devour to the Last Page



More Novels?


What should I read if I liked Pride and Prejudice?

1. Wuthering Heights
2. Emma
3. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall
4. Middlemarch
5. The House of Mirth
6. Middlemarch
7. Jane Eyre
8. Rebecca
9. To the Lighthouse
10. Little Women

Is Pride and Prejudice a hard read?

Reading Pride and Prejudice, as well as other Jane Austen Novels, is not that difficult. At the same time, it cannot be considered an easy read, but one of the classics you should put your effort into. If you are stuck somewhere watching the movie can help you go through.

At what age should you read Pride and Prejudice?

Probably 14+ is the right age to read Pride and Prejudice. Being a 200 years old book, some of the sentences can be hard to understand for younger kids.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.