ready player one If you liked "Ready Player One", Check Out These 8 Science Fiction Books

Are you looking for books like Ready Player One? The following list offers a varied range of readings that have video games as a central element in the stories of distant and not-so-distant futures

Before graphic engines turned literary works into pixelated realities, books and words were in charge of transferring readers and players to impossible realities. Today, literature and video games converge and grow symbiotically in a world flooded with technology.

Ready Player One (2011), the novel by the American author Ernest Cline and made into a movie in 2018 by Steven Spielberg, is a clear example of the increasingly natural integration of video games into fictional plots.

Disclosure: Some of our articles contain affiliate links (as an Amazon affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases).

Warcross

By Marie Lu, 2017


The novel takes us to a future in which a virtual game dominates world entertainment. This is none other than Warcross, a virtual world where everyone can have the appearance they want and earn points to pass levels and thus obtain valuable and coveted rewards. Everyone is linked in one way or another to the game.

The protagonist is Emika, a young bounty hunter who seeks to get out of poverty through the game to the point of deciding to hack it, a choice that will change her life forever.




Ender’s Game

By Orson Scott Card, 1985


Ender Wiggin is a child with an enormous responsibility. He must undergo a rigorous training if he wants to become a commander of the International Fleet, whose task is to defend the planet against an alien race with telepathic powers that threatens everyone’s life.

To do this, he must study history, mathematics and geometry, and perform war simulations to learn to decide under pressure the best strategies in the battlefields of the future.

Although these simulations are set up as if they were games, Ender will discover that they are much more than that, and that the fate of the world is in his hands.

A great book with very similar vibes to Ready Player One.




Snow Crash

By Neal Stephenson, 1992


The story is set in a dystopian future after the Vietnam War, where private companies and mafias have taken control of the United States.

In this context, we meet Hiro, a hacker who works delivering pizza for the Italian Mafia, and Y. T., a young skater who carries packages and messages from one place to another.

Both will be involved in a conspiracy when a mysterious card appears in their lives; thus they will discover that they have Snow Crash in their hands, a completely unknown virus that is lethal to anyone who downloads it.

You might also be interested into
11 Books Like George Orwell’s 1984




Minecraft: The Island

by Max Brooks, 2017


What would you do if you woke up in a pixelated world where the sun, the clouds, the animals, and even your own hands are square? How would you feel when you realize that you must fight and adapt to survive on a hostile island? Max Brooks is in charge of guiding the readers on this adventure through the world of Minecraft.

The dialogues and the author’s comic storytelling style will remind you in a way of Tom Hanks in Cast Away, and it will be an entertaining and worthwhile journey whether you played Minecraft or not. Do you dare to play this game?

If you liked Ready Player One, this book is a must read.




Erebos

By Ursula Poznanski, 2014


Nick Dunmore has noticed how his classmates begin to act strange, as distant, tired, skipping classes, and when they go they only hang out with some students in particular.

The reason for everything is Erebos, a game that when it finally gets into Nick’s hands causes the same effect on him: addiction. At first it seems harmless, but soon the game starts asking you to do things in real life, strange and dangerous tasks.

How to stop playing a game that seems like it’s watching you, that it knows everything about you, and doesn’t care if you get hurt playing?

Check Also:
9 Books like “The Selection” series




Armada

by Ernest Cline, 2015


Zack’s life is about to change, but what he doesn’t know is that everyone’s life will change too. As he looks out the window during class, an alien ship from Armada, his favorite video game, appears. Being one of the best players in the game, he is recruited to fight in real life, where failure could be the end not of a game, but of humanity.




Only You Can Save Mankind

by Terry Pratchett, 1992


When Johnny Maxwell starts playing Only You Can Save Mankind and destroys all the aliens that appear on his screen, the last thing he expects is to receive a message that says they have surrendered. But this does not end there, since they begin to appear in his dreams, interfering in his already complicated life.




Otherworld

By Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller, 2017


Otherworld is not a game; it is your new reality. A world that knows no rules or limits, and where players may not realize they are playing. Would you dare to leave that reality where you can fulfill all your dreams and desires? Discover the answer to this question in this novel written by renowned actor Jason Segel and best seller Kirsten Miller.




Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.