books like the alchemist

8 Books Like The Alchemist. Inspirational, Life-Changing, Powerful Novels You Can’t Miss

If you got here after reading The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho, you will know that life is an adventure that deserves to be lived; and if you haven’t read it yet, you’re about to find out what this journey is about.

These books that you will find below contain precious lessons that their characters learned during their fascinating lives.

They will undoubtedly change your way of seeing things, you will delve into their philosophy, and perhaps you will be encouraged to take some of their advice and maybe follow their paths.

Disclosure: Some of our items contain affiliate links (as an Amazon affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases).

books like the alchemist 1 If you liked The Alchemist, you cannot miss the Adventures and Teachings in these 8 Amazing Books

The Little Prince

by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1943)


How do you review a book that produces so many feelings in addition to leaving great lessons?

This book invites you to dream and let your imagination fly, and the interpretations are as endless as the number of stars in the sky.

That is why what each reader feels when turning the pages is a unique and personal feeling, which can even change over the years.

In this way, it is a book that can be enjoyed no matter how old you are, you will always find something valuable; these things, among others, are what makes this book truly magical.



Siddhartha

by Hermann Hesse (1922)


If there is something that characterizes Hesse’s work, it is the search for something. We end up trying to decipher the mystery of that invisible path on which we travel; a path that often leads to ourselves, because most of the answers are within us.

That is what the story of Siddhartha is about. The whole book is like the current of a river that summarizes journeys, paths, and encounters with others and oneself.

It is incredible how the whole book points to a union, to understanding the world through differences, there is no black and white, good or bad; there is perfection in everything, in every moment.

Hesse’s ideas have the clarity of river water, oblivious to time and distance.



Shantaram

by Gregory David Roberts (2003)


It is impossible to remain indifferent while reading this semi-autobiographical novel that immerses the reader in the reality of the streets of India.

The author portrays and criticizes social injustices, reflects on the defects and virtues of human beings, and philosophizes about forgiving oneself and others.

The book contains such fantastic experiences that it is impossible to guess which of the events and characters are real and which are fiction.

If you like travel stories where you can understand new cultures and at the same time get to know yourself more, you should definitely give it a try.



Into The Wild

by Jon Krakauer (1996)


Chris McCandless was an intelligent, smart, and independent boy who decided to donate all his money and undertake a journey of no return through North America.

For more than two years, he was hitchhiking around the country, and in April 1992 he decided to initiate his last great adventure into the wild, more specifically the Alaskan steppe, with nothing more than what he could hunt or harvest himself.

Chris’s journey is a great adventure that serves to be known, and it could teach the readers a little more about his philosophy and his legacy.



One Hundred Years of Solitude

by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (1967)


This novel tells the fortunes and misfortunes suffered by seven generations of the Buendia family. From the title, the two main themes are made explicit: solitude and time.

The time is cyclical; the stories seem to repeat themselves, even the names of the characters.

And the solitude is a characteristic of the men of the Buendia family, generated by isolation and the inability to love.

This journey through the generations of a family is the perfect excuse to meet one of the great Latin American writers.



Journal of a Solitude

by May Sarton (1973)


May Sarton opens the doors of her soul to us, and it is impossible not to feel identified with her words so close and real.

The barrier between the writer and the reader is broken through this lyrical and intimate text and allows us to discover the person behind the author.

It is not just a journal, it is a form of expression that puts us in the shoes of the author and brings us closer to her ghosts and her thoughts.



The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

by Robin S. Sharma (1996)


This reading emphasizes the importance of being clear about what we want and being able to meditate where you are and where we are going, always with optimism and warding off negative thoughts.

The author believes that the quality of life is determined by the quality of the thoughts, so you must find out what are your goals and direct all your energies towards them.

This book will help you precisely to achieve that, giving you many lessons, motivating you to have a balance in life, self-control and it will serve as a guide to achieving what you set out to do.



Life of Pi

by Yann Martel (2001)


This novel tells us about the evolution that its protagonist experiences through an epic journey through the Pacific Ocean that symbolizes the great change that leaving childhood means to venture into the dangers of adult life.

Although some may be reluctant to believe in the words of Pi, remember that every story has several versions, we only have to choose the one that we consider that best fits the truth, our truth. Which one will you prefer?



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.