books like divergent

8 Books Like Divergent – Young Adults Dystopian Fiction That Will Blow Your Mind

More than 10 years have passed since Veronica Roth surprised us with Divergent, the story that would become one of the best-selling and best-known young adult series in the world.

In the selection of books like Divergent, you will find stories of adventures starring young people who still have a lot to learn, but who are willing to do whatever it takes to overcome the obstacles and challenges that lie ahead with the help of their friends.

Disclosure: Some of our articles contain affiliate links (as an Amazon affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases).

books like divergent

The Maze Runner

by James Dashner (2009)


The Maze Runner tells the story of Thomas and the inhabitants of the Glade, the place he arrives after waking up in an elevator.

There he discovers that other young people like him have managed to create a whole community.

They all have something in common: none of them remember anything except his name.

But the most terrifying situation is that they are surrounded by a huge maze full of monstrous creatures, and which apparently have no way out.

Luckily for everyone, the arrival of Thomas is going to change everything. Is there a way out?




The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins (2008)


The Hunger Games is a televised show staged to humiliate the populace as a reminder of their defeat in war.

Every year, two representatives from each district will be forced to subsist in a hostile environment and fight to the death until only one survivor remains.

When Katniss’s little sister is chosen to participate, she does not hesitate to take her place, determined to demonstrate with her firm and determined attitude that even in the most desperate situations there is room for love and hope.




The Testing

by Joelle Charbonneau (2013)


The story follows the life of Cia, one of Five Lakes Colony’s top students who hope to be selected as a candidate for the Testing.

But nothing will be easy: she and the other participants will have to pass a series of mental, mathematical, and teamwork tests.

The dangers they will face will be horrible: deadly traps, animals with radiation-generated mutations, hunger, despair, and the very participants in their fight to win a precious place among the best in the country.




Mortal Engines

by Philip Reeve (2001)


In the dystopian world presented by the author, large cities have become beasts on wheels and they travel the world hunting other weaker cities to gain power.

The largest and most important city of all is London, where a boy named Tom lives. One day he must leave the city and try to survive in hostile lands, but how to fight an entire city?




The Mortal Instruments

by Cassandra Clare (2007)


The Shadowhunters are a race of humans whose blood was mixed a thousand years ago with that of an angel so that they could fight against the demons that were trying to invade the world.

Today, as a result of so many centuries of contact with these creatures, there are a whole series of races on Earth: vampires, werewolves, fairies, witches, of which ordinary humans have little knowledge.

The Shadowhunters must not only kill demons but also maintain a fragile coexistence with the Downworlders and continue to protect the mundanes without revealing their identity. This is the first book in The Shadowhunter Chronicles of Cassandra Clare.




The Lightning Thief

by Rick Riordan (2005)


The Lightning Thief is the first book in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, which features several books that follow the adventures of Percy and his friends.

In this first book, Percy is the great protagonist, who tells his story to readers as if he were a friend recounting his adventures.

He is a twelve-year-old boy who discovers that he is a demigod, the son of a god and a mortal. As such, he must face his first mission: rescue the great lightning bolt from Zeus, which has just been stolen.

But he will not undertake this adventure alone, since he will be accompanied by Grover, a young satyr, and Annabeth, the intelligent and beautiful daughter of the goddess Athena.

Check our guide about Books Like Percy Jackson




Harry Potter And The Sorcerer Stone

by J. K. Rowling (1997)


Harry is a boy who was left with his uncles when he was just one year old after his parents were killed by an evil wizard named Lord Voldemort.

This wizard cast a killing curse on Harry’s parents and he killed countless people, but could not kill a child, and it is for that reason that Harry is so famous, although he is about to find out when his adventure takes him to the great castle of Hogwarts.

In this first book, we will accompany Harry in his first adventures, which although we already know from the movies, do not cease to amaze us every time we return to the books.




The Idhun Chronicles Vol 1: The Resistance

by Laura Gallego (2004)


We begin this story with Jack, a seemingly normal boy of about 13 years old who one day found his parents murdered in his own home when he returned from school.

Right at the moment when he was about to be killed, two boys mysteriously appeared to fight the assassins and rescue him.

Those were are Shail and Alsan, two boys who came to planet Earth with a mission; they come from another place called Idhun, and so the adventure begins for Jack.




More Science Fiction?


What Books are Similar to Divergent?

1. The Maze Runner. The Maze Runner tells the story of Thomas and the inhabitants of the Glade, the place he arrives after waking up in an elevator.

Why is Divergent a Banned Book?

Divergent is not a banned book. Because of the themes explored it was given an age 13+ rating.

Is Divergent an Adult Book?

Divergent is a Young Adult Dystopian Series written for kids aged 14 and up, but an adult will it as well.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.