books like Percy Jackson

If you like fantasy mixed with classical mythology, here the books like Percy Jackson you would love to read

Percy Jackson and the Olympians is a fantasy literary saga that has literally hit the spot in recent years.

Writer Rick Riordan has released the five books managing to perfectly blend the classicism of literary myths with the American superhero world.

Two films of the same name were extracted from the first chapters of the saga, both of which have had great success all over the world.

If you like fantasy, here are the books like Percy Jackson you would love to read.

Disclosure: Some of our articles contain affiliate links (as an Amazon affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases).

The Chronicles of Narnia

by C.S Lewis


Lewis and his stories have a contemporary narrative, they do not go out of fashion, they remain suspended in time so that young and old alike can go through the wardrobe and enter into the adventures of the Chronicles of Narnia.

It is true that at times, the plot of the different novels may seem a little simple, however, as you progress through the different installments you can see how well thought out the world created by C. S. Lewis is, in which all the books have a certain relationship and are small pieces of a much bigger puzzle that will surprise you with how well it fits together when you finish.

Although it was originally written for children, over the years it has captivated readers of all ages. Moreover, it had a great influence on subsequent children’s and young adult literature: J.K. Rowling herself was inspired by it for her Platform 9 and ¾ of Harry Potter.



Tales from Earthsea

by Ursula K. Le Guin


The main protagonist in this story is the place where the events that the author explains in each story take place; Earthsea is formed by an archipelago and a number of islands around it that are differentiated by zones and whose inhabitants are quite different from each other.

Each book focuses on a group of islands and in this way, we get to know this rich world in which the adventures of the characters take place.

Many themes are dealt with in each novel, but this world is dominated by magic and it will be a preponderant element in all its pages.

We will find adventures, mysteries, treasures, dragons, darkness, evil, friendship, love, illusions, responsibility, madness. It couldn’t be more complete and the author masters each one of them to perfection.

Overall, there are five very endearing stories that explore human weaknesses and the dilemmas we must face, this is very classic of the author.

It must also be said that Le Guin is a Taoist and this is reflected in the way the characters act and some of that philosophy has been subtly transferred to her pages.

Overall, Tales of Earthsea explores the human being from all angles.



Septimus Heap Series

by Angie Sage


This Angie Sage series has been compared on numerous occasions to J.K Rowling’s Harry Potter saga.

Septimus is the first book in the Septimus Heap Series. This book falls into a classification of fantasy and children’s fiction, that is, this book is considered more for children than for young adults.

In Septimus, we find a world in which magic is very important. One aspect that I like a lot in this story is the humanization of the objects, that is to say, in the story, there are doors that open out of fear, feathers in an open out of fear, fountain pens that don’t write in the color you want because they are very stubborn, that sort of thing.

It’s a dynamic story, set for younger readers, i.e., no love themes, no sexual tension, nothing. It’s a book where you have to let your imagination run wild, a book where ghosts aren’t scary, magic exists and anything can happen.



The Rithmatist

by Brandon Sanderson


The Rithmatist is a book that comes loaded with a special and different magic, with endearing characters that you will soon become very fond of and a mystery that will have to be solved throughout the reading.

It is the beginning of a fantasy and science fiction story with touches of steampunk, with a mystery that envelops a solid and fantastic world.

Fresh, original, and surprising, this is a story that completely absorbs you with magic not only coming from what we are going to find, but also coming from Sanderson’s hand to make us see that with chalk you can also create something very real.

There are many positive things about it but, without a doubt, the most outstanding thing is the magic that Brandon Sanderson has invented. It is a peculiar and not at all simple magic, with all kinds of details that make it real and palpable.



Ulysses Moore

by Pierdomenico Baccalario


The first books pretend to be a series of manuscripts that Pierdomenico, sent by a publisher to investigate some strange events in Kilmore Kove, Cornwall peninsula, finds in the course of his investigations.

The manuscripts are written by one Ulysses Moore, and recount the adventures of two siblings, Jason and Julia Covenant, with a friend from the village, Rick Banner.

The books are easy to read. Physically, because of their good design, their loose font, their good integration with the illustrations.

Also because of their structure in short chapters that end up proposing a new mystery, or introducing a new step to be taken, or radically changing the setting to rekindle the excitement.

Then, because they do not have any descriptive flaunting, although the prose is journalistic and linear and there is no lack of clichéd expressions.

The more experienced readers will miss a more intelligent intrigue because here, everything unfolds according to the author’s inventiveness, who pulls new incidents or new solutions out of his sleeve as needed by the protagonists who never stop running from one place to another.



Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

By Rick Riordan


Rick Riordan presents us with a new story, full of his characteristic tone but completely original.

At a time when the literary world is crying out for more diversity in stories, Riordan steps forward and presents us with a diverse cast of characters who are part of the story and who are not just there for the sake of being there.

This is not new in Riordan’s books, but as his writing progresses, it appears more frequently.

The story is about Magnus, a boy who has been living on the streets for two years, Magnus survives from day to day, accompanied by two friends who have not left him alone and live in similar conditions, until one time he has to face a rather complicated challenge and although he proves his courage, Magnus dies and is taken to Valhalla, where he learns that he is the son of a Norse god.



More Fantasy?

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.