Books Series Like Game Of Thrones

Whether you’re a Game of Thrones reader or a fan of the HBO series, you probably want to see more universes like George R. R. Martin’s. Here 8 Books Series Like Game Of Thrones You Must Check Out.

If you are someone who enjoys reading about medieval fantasy, intriguing stories, politics and power disputes, magic, dragons, knights, and deep and complex characters, you have come to the right place.

Here you will find novels and series that have ingredients similar to Game of Thrones and that will transport you to truly fascinating worlds.

Without further ado, check the books below!

Disclosure: Some of our articles contain affiliate links (as an Amazon affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases).

The Iron King

by Maurice Druon (1955)

Maurice Druon is the author of this series, The Iron King being the first. Many will be surprised with the similarities with Game of Thrones, and it is that George R. R. Martin declared that he was inspired by these novels to create his universe.

The story is set at the time of the medieval French monarchy during the last five reigns of the Capetian dynasty.

A curse on the royal family will be the trigger for this plot with numerous intrigues and sudden deaths with dynamic revolutions and merciless fighting, forming a true epic combo.

Blood of Elves

by Andrzej Sapkowski (1994)

This is the first story in a series of books recounting the adventures of a witcher named Geralt of Rivia.

He is a professional monster hunter who uses his special powers and abilities to kill vampires, werewolves, ghosts, and all kinds of evil creatures for money.

In the gray and hopeless world that Geralt walks through, sometimes it’s difficult to tell the difference between monsters and men

The Name of the Wind

by Patrick Rothfuss (2007)

Kvothe is an innkeeper, a man who, at first glance, has nothing special, unless you take a good look at him.

Behind a false name and a life that is not his own, Kvothe flees from what he was, from all the names with which he is remembered.

But one day he will begin to tell his story from the beginning. You have before you the adventures of a special, sensitive, and unique character in a novel rich in detail and in magic, in a world with many secrets to discover.

The Way of Kings

by Brandon Sanderson (2010)

The plot of The Way of the Kings resembles an epic of colossal proportions where elements such as the series’ internal history, religion, or mythology are variables of fundamental importance and play a very active role in the long-term development of the events that are narrated.

During the first contact we have with this fascinating universe called Roshar we discover that there are prodigious legendary heroes who try to prevent the destruction of humanity by all means in a series of cyclical events called Desolations.

A Wizard of Earthsea

by Ursula K. Le Guin (1968)

The protagonist of the book is Ged, one of the great magicians of all time, dragonlord and Archmage.

But every great magician had to be an apprentice at some point, and learn how to control his impulses and emotions.

That is why in order to meet Ged, we must go back to the times when he still did not know his real name when no one knew that he had a natural magical talent.

The Grace of Kings

by Ken Liu (2015)

The grace of kings does not disguise the clichés of fantasy, such as the focus on great empires, kings, dynastic struggles, great deeds, palace intrigues, mythological beasts, or gods.

But Ken Liu does something new in the genre, which is to transfer all that classic characteristics to an oriental world, specifically to China.

This turns the novel into an impressive tribute to Chinese dynastic sagas, poems about great military heroes, and that exotic and ancient Chinese culture.

Gardens of the Moon

by Steven Erikson (1999)

This book begins in media res, right in the middle of the action, with no introductions or anything. We find ourselves with the Malazan Empire experiencing a succession of wars, which in turn provoke different internal rebellions.

The Empire is in a warlike air and with an undermined morale. Empress Laseen is now the new ruler, having defeated the previous monarch; she has strong expansionist desires, which will further foment wars.

The author makes the reader have to work with his own theories and discover the plot little by little. It is the first volume of the series: Malazan Book of the Fallen.

Helliconia Spring

by Brian W. Aldiss (1982)

This novel and the subsequent sequels that make up the Brian W. Aldiss trilogy are a fusion of two genres: fantasy and science fiction.

Together, the trilogy contains an analysis of the history and development of the human species and its civilization, transferred to a fictional alien world where several intelligent species coexist.

They deal with universal themes such as love, justice, power, loyalty, survival, and religion.

More fantasy books?

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *